SBYD
SPACE

SBYD.SPACE explores new climate-neutral and resource-light ways of living and production. It transfers knowledge from sustainability research into society and the economy through design. The capability of design in making theories and abstract concepts tangible – and transferring them into everyday life –  is used to explore, discuss, and test these theories and ideas in practice.

SBYD.SPACE engages with diverse audiences and collaborators through a range of formats, including workshops, international symposia, exhibitions, an artist / designer in residence program and support for entrepreneurial endeavors. It is located at Folkwang University of the Arts’ North Campus at the UNESCO World Heritage Site Zollverein, a former coal mine in Germany’s Ruhr region – a location that could not be more symbolic for the transformation of industries, ways of life, and entire regions.

UP NEXT

SBYD’s »Space for Biomaterials« will be hosting a workshop exploring the use of bacterial and algae-based dyes in design.

At the annual exhibition of the Folkwang design department, SBYD will be inviting the general public to take part in a variety of activities, including repair workshops and material experiments.

SBYD will be exhibiting, holding workshops and an event at Dutch Design Week this year.

The Space for Repair and the Space for Textiles are hosting a textile workshop at “Folkwang repairs!”. Clothes that are no longer worn, are broken or no longer look good can be redesigned. A wide range of add-ons and accessories are available for this purpose, which can be used to remove stains, close holes, change necklines, add cuffs, create patterns and create new functions. Garments can be turned into eye-catchers that stand out or are subtly modified to be worn again.

All items of clothing that are no longer worn for a variety of reasons can be brought along. Students and employees of Folkwang University can drop by without registering. External participants please register at sbyd@folkwang-uni.de.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.

SBYD
SPACE

SBYD.SPACE erforscht klimaneutrale und ressourcenschonende Lebens- und Produktionsweisen. Er transferiert Wissen aus der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung durch Design in die Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Die Fähigkeit des Designs, Theorien und abstrakte Konzepte greifbar zu machen – und in den Alltag zu übertragen – wird genutzt, um diese Theorien und Ideen in der Praxis zu erforschen, zu diskutieren und zu erproben.

SBYD.SPACE bindet verschiedene Zielgruppen und Kooperationspartner*innen in eine Reihe von Formaten ein, unter anderem Workshops, internationale Symposien, Ausstellungen, ein “Artist / Designer in Residence” Programm und die Unterstützung von unternehmerischen Vorhaben. Er befindet sich auf dem Campus Nord der Folkwang Universität der Künste auf dem Gelände des UNESCO-Welterbes Zollverein, einer ehemaligen Zeche im Ruhrgebiet – ein Ort, der symbolischer nicht sein könnte für die Transformation von Industrien, Lebensweisen und ganzen Regionen.

UP NEXT

SBYDs »Space for Biomaterials« wird einen Workshop veranstalten, der die Nutzung von bakteriellen und algenbasierten Farbstoffen im Design untersucht.

Im Rahmen der jährlichen Ausstellung des Folkwang Designbereichs lädt SBYD die Besucher*innen zu verschiedenen Aktionen ein, darunter Reparatur-Workshops und Materialexperimente.

SBYD wird dieses Jahr auf der Dutch Design Week ausstellen, Workshops veranstalten und eine Veranstaltung ausrichten.

Der Space for Repair und der Space for Textiles veranstalten auf „Folkwang repairs!“ einen Textilworkshop. Klamotten, die nicht mehr angezogen werden, kaputt sind oder nicht mehr gefallen, können neu gestaltet werden. Dafür steht eine große Auswahl an Add-ons und Accessoires zur Verfügung, mit denen Flecken verschwinden, Löcher geschlossen, Ausschnitte geändert, Bündchen ergänzt, Muster kreiert und neue Funktionen geschaffen werden können. Kleidungsstücke können zu Eyecatchern werden, die auffallen oder dezent verändert werden, um wieder gerne getragen zu werden.

Mitgebracht werden können alle Kleidungsstücke, die aus den unterschiedlichsten Gründen nicht mehr angezogen werden. Studierende und Mitarbeitende der Folkwang Uni können ohne Anmeldung vorbeikommen. Externe melden sich bitte unter sbyd@folkwang-uni.de an.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.