SBYD.SPACE explores climate-neutral and resource-light ways of living and production. It transfers knowledge from sustainability research into society and the economy through design. The capability of design in making theories and abstract concepts tangible – and transferring them into everyday life – is used to explore, discuss, and test these theories and ideas in practice. Design thus functions as a tool to make the knowledge gained from sustainability research visible and tangible, fostering discourse and aiming at social transformations towards climate neutrality and resource conservation.

SBYD.SPACE pursues an interdisciplinary and collaborative approach that involves different audiences and cooperation partners. Together with the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy (WI), the Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety and Energy Technology (UMSICHT), and other partners, SBYD.SPACE develops prototypes, visualisations, and realisable designs for sustainable products, services, and practices. Formats such as workshops, international symposia, and exhibitions are aimed at a broad public. With an experimental approach to contemporary sustainability research and design methods, ideas and theories related to a more climate-neutral and resource-conserving way of life are translated into design projects by the SBYD team and collaborators, as well as the guests hosted through the SBYD artist / designer in residence programme. In addition, entrepreneurial endeavours are supported through start-up initiatives and cooperations with local businesses. 

SBYD.SPACE is part of the “Innovative University” funding line and is supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Joint Science Conference (GWK).

UP NEXT

At the annual exhibition of the Folkwang design department, SBYD will be inviting the general public to take part in a variety of activities, including repair workshops and material experiments.

SBYD will be exhibiting, holding workshops and an event at Dutch Design Week this year.

OPEN CALL

From 1 April 2025 to 30 June 2025, SBYD.SPACE is offering two “Artist / Designer in Residence” scholarships on the themes of “Repair” and “Food” for Japanese artists or designers. The programme is supported by the Goethe-Institut Villa Kamogawa Kyoto and Museum Folkwang in Essen, where the residents will present their work. More information will be published soon! Details of the programme and the application procedure can be found in the PDF (EN) | PDF (JPN).

TEAM

Sustainability by Design

Folkwang Universität der Künste
Campus Zeche Zollverein
Martin-Kremmer-Strasse 21
45327 Essen

Prof. Dr. Johanna Schmeer
Director SBYD, Director Bio Lab

Judith Schanz
Co-Director SBYD, Research Associate

Daniel Wilkens
Co-Director SBYD, Research Associate

Prof. Anke Bernotat
Director Craft Lab

Prof. Stefan Neudecker
Director Tech Lab

Judith Schlupkothen
Project Assistant

Shahriar Assadi
Research Associate

Tom Baffi
Research Associate

Rolf Brändle
Research Associate

Lucas Dieckmann
Research Associate

Steffen Hartwig
Research Associate

Katharina Herbrich
Research Associate

Lena Jean Jäger
Research Associate

Marius Land
Research Associate

Corinne Riepert
Research Associate

Zeinab Abdou
Student Research Assistant

Lorena Droste
Student Research Assistant

Lars Feller
Student Research Assistant

Paulina Heidlberger
Student Research Assistant

Lilli Seiler
Student Research Assistant

Carl Vollmer
Student Research Assistant

If you’d like to get to know us a little better or simply say ‘hello’, you can get in touch with us via e-mail at sbyd@folkwang-uni.de

SPACE
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.

SBYD.SPACE erforscht klimaneutrale und ressourcenschonende Lebens- und Produktionsweisen. Der Space transferiert Wissen aus der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung durch Design in die Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Die Fähigkeit des Designs, Theorien und abstrakte Konzepte greifbar zu machen – und in den Alltag zu übertragen – wird genutzt, um diese Theorien und Ideen in der Praxis zu erforschen, zu diskutieren und zu erproben. Design fungiert somit als Tool, um das Wissen aus der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung sichtbar und greifbar zu machen, fördert dadurch den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs und strebt Transformationen hin zu Klimaneutralität und Ressourcenschonung an.

SBYD.SPACE verfolgt einen interdisziplinären und kollaborativen Ansatz, der verschiedene Zielgruppen und Kooperationspartner*innen einbindet. Gemeinsam mit dem Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie (WI) und dem Fraunhofer Institut für Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und Energietechnik (UMSICHT), entwickelt SBYD.SPACE Prototypen, Visualisierungen und umsetzbare Entwürfe nachhaltiger Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Handlungsweisen. Formate wie Workshops, internationale Symposien und Ausstellungen richten sich an eine breite Öffentlichkeit. Mit einer experimentellen Herangehensweise an zeitgenössische Nachhaltigkeitsforschung und Designmethoden werden Ideen und Theorien einer klimaneutralen und ressourcenschonenden Lebensweise vom SBYD Team, den Kollaborateuren sowie den im SBYD Artist / Designer in Residence Programm eingeladenen Gästen in gestalterische Arbeiten übersetzt. Zudem werden unternehmerische Vorhaben durch Existenzgründungsinitiativen und Kooperationen mit lokalen Unternehmen unterstützt.

SBYD.SPACE ist Teil der Förderlinie „Innovative Hochschule“ und wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und der Gemeinsamen Wissenschaftskonferenz (GWK) gefördert.

UP NEXT

Beschreibungstext fehlt.

Im Rahmen der jährlichen Ausstellung des Folkwang Designbereichs lädt SBYD die Besucher*innen zu verschiedenen Aktionen ein, darunter Reparatur-Workshops und Materialexperimente.

SBYD wird dieses Jahr auf der Dutch Design Week ausstellen, Workshops veranstalten und eine Veranstaltung ausrichten.

OPEN CALL

Vom 1. April 2025 bis zum 30. Juni 2025 bietet SBYD.SPACE zwei „Artist / Designer in Residence“-Stipendien zu den Themen „Repair“ und „Food“ für japanische Künstler*innen oder Designer*innen an. Das Programm wird vom Goethe-Institut Villa Kamogawa Kyoto und dem Museum Folkwang in Essen unterstützt, wo die Residents ihre Arbeiten vorstellen werden. Weitere Informationen werden bald bekannt gegeben! 

TEAM

Sustainability by Design

Folkwang Universität der Künste
Campus Zeche Zollverein
Martin-Kremmer-Strasse 21
45327 Essen

Prof. Dr. Johanna Schmeer
Gesamtprojektleitung SBYD, Leitung Bio Lab

Judith Schanz
Co-Projektleitung SBYD, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Daniel Wilkens
Co-Projektleitung SBYD, Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Prof. Anke Bernotat
Leitung Craft Lab

Prof. Stefan Neudecker
Leitung Tech Lab

Judith Schlupkothen
Projektassistenz

Shahriar Assadi
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Tom Baffi
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Rolf Brändle
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Lucas Dieckmann
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Steffen Hartwig
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Katharina Herbrich
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Lena Jean Jäger
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Marius Land
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Corinne Riepert
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Zeinab Abdou
Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft

Lorena Droste
Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft

Lars Feller
Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft

Paulina Heidlberger
Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft

Lilli Seiler
Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft

Carl Vollmer
Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft

Wenn ihr uns noch besser kennenlernen oder einfach nur »Hallo« sagen möchtet, schreibt uns einfach eine E-Mail an sbyd@folkwang-uni.de

SPACE
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.