SBYD.SPACE creates SPACES of possibility for exploring sustainable alternatives. Each SPACE is composed of a different set of interdisciplinary team members – akin to a working group. In different and continuously evolving SPACES, such as the SPACE FOR REPAIR, the SPACE FOR BIOMATERIALS, and the SPACE FOR TEXTILES, room is created for projects that pursue a circular, resource-light, and regenerative design approach. The SPACES form a thematic and conceptual structure within SBYD, around which activities such as interdisciplinary workshops, design projects, and exhibitions are clustered. Each SPACE approaches sustainability with a slightly different perspective, definition, and way of working, creating a multiperspective approach within SBYD that makes different possibilities of sustainable living and production visible and tangible. 

BIOMATERIALS

The SPACE FOR BIOMATERIALS works at the intersection of design and materials science. It experimentally develops and explores bio-based materials. How can the use of bio-based materials foster regenerative design approaches, for example through the use of waste materials or materials from paludiculture? How can designers engage with microbiology to develop alternative materials and colours?  

The annual exhibition of the design department at Folkwang University of the Arts.

At the Innovative Citizen Festival, Garden Edition.

SBYD will be exhibiting, holding workshops and an event at Dutch Design Week this year.

TEXTILES

The SPACE FOR TEXTILES examines factors influencing the lifespan of textile objects. Which contributions can design make to foster the use of textiles to be as long and sustainable as possible? Which potential lies in the interplay between craftsmanship, tradition, decentralised, and industrial production for the future?

Mini workshops on repairing and redesigning clothes during the »Folkwang Rundgang«, the annual exhibition of the design department.

SBYD will be exhibiting, holding workshops and an event at Dutch Design Week this year.

REPAIR

The SPACE FOR REPAIR works at the intersection of craft, technology, longevity, and repair. The decision whether to repair a broken object is often complex. Economic, cognitive, emotional, cultural, infrastructural, and political factors are involved. How can design promote and consolidate a culture of repair? 

SPACES
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.

SBYD.SPACE schafft mit seinen SPACES Möglichkeitsräume zum Erproben nachhaltiger Alternativen. Jeder SPACE besteht aus unterschiedlichen, interdisziplinär zusammengestellten Teammitgliedern – ähnlich einer Arbeitsgruppe. In verschiedenen und sich kontinuierlich weiterentwickelnden SPACES, wie dem SPACE FOR REPAIR, dem SPACE FOR BIOMATERIALS und dem SPACE FOR TEXTILES, wird Raum für Projekte geschaffen, die einen zirkulären, ressourcen-leichten und regenerativen Designansatz verfolgen. Die SPACES bilden eine thematische und konzeptionelle Struktur innerhalb von SBYD, um die Aktivitäten wie interdisziplinäre Workshops, Design Projekte und Ausstellungen geclustert sind. Jeder Raum nähert sich dem Thema der Nachhaltigkeit von einer leicht unterschiedlichen Perspektive, Definition und Arbeitsweise an. Innerhalb von SBYD entsteht so eine multiperspektivische Herangehensweise, die verschiedene Möglichkeiten nachhaltigen Lebens und Produzierens sichtbar und greifbar macht.

BIOMATERIALS

Der SPACE FOR BIOMATERIALS arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Design und Materialwissenschaft. Er entwickelt und erforscht experimentell biobasierte Materialien. Wie können biobasierte Materialien dazu beitragen, regenerative Gestaltungsansätze zu fördern, beispielsweise durch die Nutzung von Abfallmaterialien oder Materialien aus der Paludikultur? Wie können Designer mit Mikrobiologie interagieren, um alternative Materialien und Farben zu entwickeln?

Experimente mit Pigment-produzierenden Bakterien und verschiedenen Materialien.

Der jährlichen Ausstellung des Fachbereichs Gestaltung der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Beim Innovative Citizen Festival, Garden Edition.

SBYD wird dieses Jahr auf der Dutch Design Week ausstellen, Workshops veranstalten und eine Veranstaltung ausrichten.

TEXTILES

Der SPACE FOR TEXTILES untersucht Faktoren, die die Lebensdauer von textilen Objekten beeinflussen. Welche Beiträge kann Design leisten, um Textilien möglichst lange und nachhaltig zu nutzen? Welches Potenzial liegt im Spannungsfeld Handwerk, Tradition, dezentraler und industrieller Produktion für die Zukunft?

Reparieren und Neugestalten von Kleidern auf »Folkwang repariert!«

Mini-Workshops auf dem Folkwang Rundgang zum Reparieren und Neugestalten von Kleidung.

SBYD wird dieses Jahr auf der Dutch Design Week ausstellen, Workshops veranstalten und eine Veranstaltung ausrichten.

REPAIR

Der SPACE FOR REPAIR arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Handwerk, Technologie, Langlebigkeit und Reparaturkultur. Die Entscheidung, ob ein defektes Objekt repariert werden soll, ist oft komplex. Wirtschaftliche, kognitive, emotionale, kulturelle, infrastrukturelle und politische Faktoren spielen eine Rolle. Wie kann Design eine Kultur der Reparatur fördern und festigen? 

Beschreibungstext.

Beschreibungstext.

Sustainability by Design – Was haben Design mit Reparierbarkeit und Langlebigkeit mit Nachhaltigkeit zu tun?

SPACES
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.